Different Colour! : Hummingbird Hawk Moth


These hummingbird hawk moths arrived yesterday, feeding on the same plant as the ‘regulars’. I have never seen this colour before, they’re just beautiful, and much more vivid. Does anyone know if they have a specific name? I’ve found a few pictures on Google but no information.

 

Compared to the type we have always had …

Normal Colour

UPDATE!!  I’m editing this post because I have just found out from Pete  

that these are actually the Broad-bordered Bee Hawk Moth!  Thanks Pete!

8 thoughts on “Different Colour! : Hummingbird Hawk Moth

    • Michael I don’t have a clue! I just set the old Panasonic Lumix FZ 200 onto macro and then stand back and use the zoom. These shots were pure luck, and I was quite amazed when I saw them. I’ve had a quick look at photo number 3 info and it gives this: exposure time 1/800 sec, ISO 100, Focal length: 85.8mm. Will that help? 🙂

I'd love your thoughts ...

