Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise


This was genuine and happened yesterday, most conveniently for the weekly challenge. I wandered out onto the balcony in the morning and looked down into the woods. Something was different. There was a splodge of purple that had never been there before. I got the camera.

Time to zoom in …

The colour reminded me of a clematis or an iris … but how could that happen suddenly in the middle of the wood? This morning I scrambled down the bank between the trees …

And there it was! A beautiful tall iris with two more buds waiting to bloom. Never before has an iris grown down there. It’s magic!

Isn’t nature incredible. I can only assume that birds or the wind helped a seed down there.

Iris, no doubt, has been a big and rather beautiful surprise!

Weekly Photo Challenge

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

    • I think that bug may be a bit big for a mozzie, we’re certainly not getting any around the house. I do remember my time in B.C though – mozzies were a nightmare. We had screens on all doors and windows. 🙂

  1. Very nice and I love the purple ones. Mine will not bloom for some time yet and sunshine is necessary I think? Loveit. Sista.

    • D’you know we’ve lived here for over twelve years and that flower has never been there before. Nature is amazing. And it really is a beauty with two more buds waiting to open! So glad it brought back good memories for you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Surprise: Fresh Green | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Wednesday to Wednesday – Who Thought That One Up? | Say It With A Camera

I'd love your thoughts ...

