Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration


The Weekly Photo Challenge rather threw me this week. It set me off on a course of thought about people and things I admire and realized that the people who I admire most are all endowed with the same quality ā€“ dedication – the quality of being dedicated or committed to a task or purpose. These were some of the synonyms: commitment, wholeheartedness, single-mindedness, zeal, diligence, perseverance, tenacity. It’s not that I’m completely bereft of these qualities, it’s just that I only have them for short periods of time! I guess I admire those who have made a career of a natural ability and put in weeks, months, and years of hard work in order to attain a goal. People at the top in sport for instance, such as tennis players and snooker players who practice for hours every day. Swimmers who get up at silly o’clock and go to train in the pool before they go to work ā€“ for years. Routines like that make me feel liked a caged tiger. But then I stop and ask myself whether individuals who have the ability to keep on that track and work endlessly towards their goal, well, are they not born with that ‘dedication gene’? Maybe as the blueprint in a daisy seed determines that the seed will become a daisy, then maybe our own individual blue-prints endow us with certain qualities. Maybe a lot of us don’t admire or even see our own qualities, instead we focus on those attributes which we see in others and lack in ourselves? But does the daisy look across the lawn at the rose and think ‘if only I looked and smelled like her’, and does the sparrow wish he could sing like a nightingale? Nature just is. Maybe we should be too.

Daisy Daisy 2e

P1030230CE

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration

  1. I have officiated at literally hundreds of wedding ceremonies over the past 50 plus years… and something I have done at each and every ceremony is challenge the couple to “keep the C.O.D.E.”: commitment… optimism… dedication… and enthusiasm. These are the same attributes that you are speaking about… and are definitely worthy of admiration. However as you say… we can get so wrapped up in admiring others that it can get depressing. I admire your perspective and your powerful thoughts.

    Galen

    • Thank you Galen, I really appreciate your opinion and thoughts! I shall remember C.O.D.E, it would serve a person very well in many situations in life. šŸ™‚

  2. true, nature just is. but then i am reminded of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, who was not content to just be an ordinary gull šŸ™‚
     
    love both these images, Jude. Sparrows are among my favourite birds šŸ™‚

  3. It’s years since I read JLS, I loved it. I was watching swallows skimming the river yesterday; if I have to come back as a bird I reckon that’s what I’d want to be – or maybe an albatross? Decisions, decisions!

  4. Pingback: Admiration (Flower Parade 1) | What's (in) the picture?

I'd love your thoughts ...

