Weekly Photo Challenge: Half Light


This week’s challenge: Share a photo inspired by a poem, verse, song lyric or story.

Memories with Joyce

 

The Spell of the Yukon

by

Robert W. Service

*******

(*the second and the last, of the nine verses*)

*******

No! There’s the land. (Have you seen it?)

It’s the cussedest land that I know,

From the big, dizzy mountains that screen it

To the deep, deathlike valleys below.

Some say God was tired when He made it;

Some say it’s a fine land to shun;

Maybe; but there’s some as would trade it

For no land on earth – and I’m one.

*************

There’s gold, and it’s haunting and haunting;

It’s luring me on as of old;

Yet it isn’t the gold that I’m wanting

So much as just finding the gold.

It’s the great, big, broad land ‘way up yonder,

It’s the forests where silence has lease;

It’s the beauty that fills me with wonder,

It’s the stillness that fills me with peace.

Once upon a time, a long, long time ago, I lived in a place called Kaslo, in British Columbia, Canada. My best buddy (Joyce), and I, called it God’s country. This picture with a backdrop of the Rocky Mountains, was taken from her garden. She’s still in Kaslo. It’s a long way from France, and I miss her. But no doubt she’ll recognize her old place when she sees this on Facebook. Kaslo isn’t in the Yukon, but the words of the poem could easily be relating to it.
I’ve never been much into poetry, but I absolutely love the works of Robert W. Service. His words take me back to a past life of deep winter snows, log cabins, rushing rivers and that amazing stillness in the forest. Wonderful, incredible memories.
This poem is nine verses long, so I’ve just chosen two of my favorites.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Half Light

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Half-Light – WoollyMuses

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Half-Light | Musings of a Random Mind

  3. Pingback: Half-Light (Early Morning B4 Shopping) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Thanks for that Mike, I was thinking it wasn’t a particularly good pic! I took it back in 1996 and recently scanned it into the PC. It fitted with those bits of the Robert Service poem.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Half Light – Say It With A Camera

I'd love your thoughts ...

