Never Assume! Check!


 

We’ve just bought me a new camera, a Fuji finepix s4600, an upgrade from my Fuji-finepix s5800. The 5800 was 8 mega-pixels, the 4600 is 16. There are also other new options. I loved the 5800 which has been particularly good for macro shots, and I was looking forward and really excited about the newer model. The first thing I noticed when I picked it up and tried to look through the viewfinder was that there wasn’t one! Much swearing followed. I wear glasses for reading and close-up work but not for walking through the woods. Going out for a walk with the new camera and having to look at the LCD screen will mean ‘glasses-on’ ‘glasses-off’ ‘glasses-on’ glasses-off’! Grrrrrrrrrr!

Like most cameras these days it does most conveniently give you a nice ‘beeeeeep’ to tell you when it’s focused which is great, but the trouble is with the LCD screen I can never be sure as to exactly what it’s focused on, even with glasses. With macro shots this is really important because I often want to focus on a very specific point on a very small subject, and even with my glasses on I can’t tell if I’ve got it right. With a viewfinder I can see exactly. Having said this I have to say I’m extremely happy with a couple of my first shots.Β 

DSCF0009C2 DSCF5032C

 

7 thoughts on “Never Assume! Check!

  1. I don’t know how much the new camera had to do with those shots, the colour and composition is brilliant. They are really nice pictures πŸ™‚ When I got my FZ200 for weeks I was carrying my old camera around as well, I just didn’t really trust the new one, after a bit I realised that the new one was far better πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Ah thanks Colin, maybe we’re both in that age group when change isn’t adjusted to quite so easily! I was happy with the pics above, but there were half a dozen that were useless. I found some great shots of ants filing up the stems of a plant and in every case the camera had focused just wide of the stem. I had blurred stems and distant objects sharp. Immediate thought was to carry my old camera for specific shots. Trial and error!

    Like

  3. Jude, like most things in life, cameras are a compromise. If you want small and pocketable, so you’ve always got it with you, a tiny one with an LCD screen fits the bill. But because you won’t have a ‘proper’ viewfinder – optical is preferable to electronic IMO – as well as the LCD screen, you’ll miss many pix because you”ll be stuggling to focus or can’t see the screen in bright sunlight. But, add a viewfinder and the weight, bulk and cost leap up and, if it’s too bulky, you’ll be tempted to leave it at home.

    No easy answer … Jim xx

    Like

    • Agreed Jim! I don’t like pocket cameras, the finepix s5800 that I had was a bridge camera, and it’s been brilliant, and it had a viewfinder and an LCD screen. I assumed (there’s that word again!) that the s4600 – also a bridge and just a newer version of the s5800 would automatically have a viewfinder too. I was so peed off with myself for not doing a thorough check. I’ll definitely use the new camera but will pack my 5800 with me as well for shots that I want to make sure of. Thanks for your thoughts! πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love your Thoughts!

